Unacademy has bagged the central sponsor deal for the IPL in ₹120-130 crore  for three years

So first for people who don’t know what IPL is it’s basically the Indian Premier League and it’s a big deal. Players from all over the world come to India to play cricket. The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India contested during March or April and May of every year by eight teams representing eight different cities in India but this yeayit’s slightly different.

There have been twelve seasons of the IPL tournament. The current IPL title holders are the Mumbai Indians, who won the 2019 season. The venue for the 2020 season has been moved, due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic; games will now take place in the United Arab Emirates from 19 September through 10 November.

The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008.

The IPL is the most-attended cricket league in the world and in 2014 ranked sixth by average attendance among all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL became the first sporting event in the world to be broadcast live on YouTube. The brand value of the IPL in 2019 was ₹475 billion (US$6.7 billion), according to Duff & Phelps. According to BCCI, the 2015 IPL season contributed ₹11.5 billion (US$160 million) to the GDP of the Indian economy.

IPL receives 'in principle' permission from Indian government to hold 13th  edition in UAE

The Teams

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL is known to literally every Indian even if you don’t like cricket and honestly I’m a big fan of it. It is the only time of the year that I’m really enthuastic for something. I shout, I get angry, IPL basically brings out my bad side.

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in league’s history in terms of the number of titles won. The Chennai Super Kings have won 3 titles, the Kolkata Knight Riders have won two titles, and the other three teams who have won the tournament are the Deccan Chargers, Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

IPL 2020 CSK Full Squad: Chennai Super Kings Full Player List

My team is CSK(chennai super kings)(where I live) who have won three times so far.

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are a franchise cricket team based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, which plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Founded in 2008, the team plays its home matches at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The team served a two-year suspension from the IPL starting July 2015 for the alleged involvement of their owners in the 2013 IPL betting case, and won the title in its comeback season. The team is captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni and coached by Stephen Fleming.

I love my team. We played our first match against Mumbai Indians this year in saturday and we won. After losing the final to the same team last year.

I was like :

The Super Kings have lifted the IPL title thrice (in 2010, 2011 and 2018), and has the highest win percentage among all teams in the IPL (61.28). They hold the records of most appearances in the playoffs (ten) and the Final (eight) of the IPL. They are the only IPL team to qualify for the playoff stage in each edition of their appearance in the league.

IPL is one of the most exciting leagues. I’m a little sad that IPL is happening in India but I’m glad it atleast happened.

Orange Cap

The Orange Cap is awarded to the top run-scorer in the IPL during a season. It is an ongoing competition with the leader wearing the cap throughout the tournament until the final game, with the eventual winner keeping the cap for the season.

Purple Cap

The Purple Cap is awarded to the top wicket-taker in the IPL during a season. It is an ongoing competition with the leader wearing the cap throughout the tournament until the final game, with the eventual winner keeping the cap for the season.

Most Valuable Player

The award was called the “man of the tournament” till the 2012 season. The IPL introduced the Most Valuable Player rating system in 2013, the leader of which would be named the “Most Valuable Player” at the end of the season.

IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2020: Full List of All IPL Winners Team

I love watching IPL, the thrill is just amazing. It’s like you get goosebumps watching every bowl bowled and every shot hit. Anyway I love watching it.

Comment below do you watch IPL?

Thank you for reading.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s