Manga discovery(September 2021)

Welcome back to September’s manga discoveries. Last month I read only one manga – Aria because of my exams but even this month I’ve only read a few(at least more than last month). As you know I have finally finished the Tokyo Ghoul series this month, something which I’ve been planning for a long time and I’m glad I got the time to do that.

Even though I read only a few mangas, it certainly has been a good month for me. I watched a lot of anime, mostly short one such as Aho-girl, Magical sempai, Paranoia Agent, Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san and finally death parade.

Let’s get on to the very short list.


Tokyo Ghoul

25 Best Ghoul clothing ideas | ghoul clothing, ghoul, tokyo ghoul

Mangaka: Sui Ishida

Synopsis: Shy Ken Kaneki is thrilled to go on a date with the beautiful Rize. But it turns out that she’s only interested in his body—eating it, that is. When a morally questionable rescue transforms him into the first half-human half-Ghoul hybrid, Ken is drawn into the dark and violent world of Ghouls, which exists alongside our own.

Tokyo Ghoul in its entirety deals with a lot of intense topics. Ghouls eating people with grotesque ways and a lot of body horror, all of these things are integral to showing how brutal and twisted the world can be.

Tokyo Ghoul:re

Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 1 (Volume 1) : Ishida, Sui: Amazon.in: Books

Mangaka: Sui Ishida

Synopsis: In Tokyo, an unchanging despair is lurking. Mysterious man-eating beings, ghouls, run rampant in Tokyo. Living hidden during everyday life, the existence of ghouls, whose true identities are shrouded in mystery, permanently terrorizes Tokyo’s residents.

At CCG, the sole institution that investigates and resolves cases related to ghouls, Haise Sasaki has been assigned a certain mission. While dealing with the unruly four problem children known as “Quinx”, Haise’s days of suffering begin…?!

What’s there to say about this series that hasn’t been said already. From start to end, it was really perfect. In Tokyo Ghoul:re, Sui Ishida had a more concise storytelling than Tokyo Ghoul and you can really tell from the art and the story as to his growth as an mangaka. Tokyo Ghoul is a series that will always have special place in my heart and Tokyo Ghoul:re did an amazing to job to follow up the blockbuster of a prequel.

Moriking

Mangaka: Tomohiro Hasegawa

Synopsis: Third-grader Shota Aikawa’s pet beetle evolves from a larva to a pupa to a superhot human! The wacky adventures of the Aikawa family and the fabulous beetle who would be king now begins! You’re gonna LARVA this new comedy manga!

Moriking is a very weird but different story and I love it. The idea of a insect turning into a human and fighting for his place to be the king of insects with some unexplainable comedy is gold. I know that surreal humor is not for everyone but I love these kind of stories. I’m really sad to see that it got cancelled, I would’ve loved more of this goofy story.


Well that’s all I’ve read this month. I’m currently reading Rosario+Vampire: Season II, I finished season 1 last year and haven’t touched the series since. I thought it was a good time to get back on it since it’s October. Any longer and I would’ve forgotten the whole series. There are also a lot of anime I want to binge on this month including new fall series so yeah got a lot of work in my hands.

That’s it for this month. Let’s meet next month to see what new mangas I have discovered.

Thank you for reading.

5 comments

  1. Where do you read Manga from? Do you read it online for free? OR do you purchase them to support the writers. It’s so difficult to keep up with buying all these manga, especially when one book is so expensive… Don’t ya think?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it is expensive to buy manga but more than that most of the mangas are not available in my country. I usually read on their official sites, last month I pretty much read every manga on the VIZ site since the mangas were from there. Bookwalker is also a good site to use.

      Like

  2. I’ve definitely got Moriking on the short list for titles I’m reading pretty soon as I blast through all of the Viz cancelled titles. It looks fun and it’s definitely got a unique premise which sounds like fun

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment